how to correctly install wampserver
Posted by: maxilgatto (---.117-80-r.retail.telecomitalia.it)
Date: August 02, 2015 04:44PM

hy, I need to install a WAMP on my win8.1/64 to locally test joomla sites. The problem is that I have already apache/tomcat and php on my workstation, working in bundle with a specific application. If I install now wampserver will it interfere with previously installed apache/php? I need that the two enwironments work separately. Is it possible? Thanks in advance

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: how to correctly install wampserver
Posted by: funkyfrank (179.43.144.---)
Date: August 02, 2015 05:03PM

I am no pro but I think WAMP installs everything into c:\wamp rather than \program files\mysql, \program files\apache\ and so on.

I am a fairly new user so could be totally wrong but I have installed WAMP and did not find any traces of Apache, MySQL or PHP (AMP) outside the c:\wamp\ directory.

If you can and like your system and OS to stay the way it was and try out WAMP you could download Macrium Reflect Free and make an image of your OS.
So to speak the C partition and there only the space that is taken by your current OS installation (Refelect does this automatically, just click "Create an image of the partitions needed to restore the Operating System"winking smiley.
Save that image to an external drive or to another partition where you do not have your OS on.

Then you can try out WAMP and if things are fine, fine, but if you find it interferes with your current installations of the AMP stack you can quickly go back to your old OS state and restore the image you made and it will be just like you never had WAMP on your OS partition.
I do this regularly when I install new software.
Best way to keep the registry and OS clean and running I find.

Hope this help.

On another note: