Error #1045
Posted by: hellebora (---.static.tpgi.com.au)
Date: July 17, 2012 08:58AM

I'm completely new to this.

I'm using phpmyadmin 3.5.1 - I read the message saying that there was no password, and this was a security issue, so I generated (and recorded) passwords for each root user, and for localhost. It then said I did not have permission to do X (I don't remember what), so I refreshed. Then I got error 1045.

I've had a play with the config.php file, but I don't really know what I am doing, nor which password value I need to be filling in. I've tried changing 'root' to 'localhost', just in case, and 'true' to 'false'. I can't get past the error, and now I am completely lost!

Do I just uninstall and reinstall everything, knowing that I only started today, and so am not loosing much, or is there a fairly simple way to fix all this?

Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Error #1045
Posted by: haris (175.157.177.---)
Date: July 17, 2012 01:39PM

MySQL said: Documentation
#1045 - Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.ppp.as43234.net)
Date: July 17, 2012 04:37PM

Try this.

Edit c:\wamp\apps\phpmyadmin3.5.1\config.inc.php

change

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = ''; // ADD YOUR PASSWORD IN HERE ( the one for root@localhost )
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = true; // CHANGE THIS TO FALSE

In mysql userids and hosts are linked which is why it says 'root'@'localhost' in your error message.
That means someone is trying to gain access using the root userid from the localhost machine.

As you saw when you changes the passwords there are 3 root users defined
1 is 'root' when used from the localhost machine
2 is 'root' when used from the 127.0.0.1 ipaddress
3 is 'root' when used from an IPV6 equivalent address to 127.0.0.1 which is ::1

So your error message tell you that you are using the 'root' userid from the 'localhost' client machine.