Localhost problems
Posted by: SassleFrassle (---.neo.res.rr.com)
Date: December 31, 2008 09:59PM

Sorry if this is a double post. I checked several posts and then tried the search feature, and it didn't work.

Hello,

I installed a WAMP server on a server I have access to (Windows 2000 I believe)(IIS 5 I think) and installed WAMP because I heard it would be easier to use since I just need the PHP and MySQL, etc., for WordPress.

Anyway, I installed it, and selected the final option -- no server and it shows as online and all services are started. But, when I go to use the fuctions (Localhost, phpMyAdmin, etc) I get a 'The page cannot be found' error. Any help?

It may also be noted that I am new to setting up web servers. A local place gave me access to their server for my school's webpage, but I need to do it myself.

Thanks.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 12/31/2008 10:33PM by SassleFrassle.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Localhost problems
Posted by: stevenmartin99 (---.b-ras1.blp.dublin.eircom.net)
Date: December 31, 2008 10:57PM

try h ttp ://127.0.0.1 and let me know if this works?

wat colour is wamp icon?

Steven Martin
stevenmartin99@gmail.com
stevenmartin99@hotmail.com
PampServer.com - [pampserver.com]

Date: December 31, 2008 11:17PM

Hi Steve,

I tried to access it via the htp and got nothing.

I am colorblind... but the icon appears to be a half circle with a stripe of blue and yellow. Here is a screenshot of the icon: [i43.tinypic.com]

Thanks for your quick response...

Date: December 31, 2008 11:22PM

its never blue smiling smiley but i guess u have some accessiblty program that changes colour? as the pic u sent is blue!

its only ever red or yellow with white

goto c:/wamp/logs and post up the last 10lines of each apache_error and mysql logs files and ill have a look at why its not all white

Steven Martin
stevenmartin99@gmail.com

Date: December 31, 2008 11:33PM