Version 2.5
Posted by: Malcolm (101.175.71.---)
Date: September 25, 2014 09:02AM

I have Windows 7 Pro SP1; Wampserverr 2.5, 32 bit; Apache 2.4.9; MySQL 5.6.17; PHP 5.5.12; green icon.
I have been using Wampserver for many years but cannot get Ver. 2.5 to work. When I click "localhost" I get the usual display including a list of "Your Projects" (several websites). When I click on a project "Server not found" is displayed eventually. I read the forum entry by RiggsFolly of 28 May and attempted to follow instructions on creating a Virtual Host but this did not help. In his example he refers to "project1"; I am uncertain whether this is intended as a project name or actually a domain name (or a mixture of both). I have tried various combinations but none work. I would appreciate some assistance before I give up and return to Version 4.
Malcolm Tompson

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Version 2.5
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com)
Date: September 25, 2014 10:12AM

Hi Malcolm,

The folder 'project1' is just a folder name into which you place your website code, it has no relation to the actual domain name until Apache sees your Virtual Hosts definition.

The part that associates the folder name 'project1' with an actual domain name is the 'DocumentRoot' and 'ServerName' directives that you use in the Virtual Host definition.

So if you place your website pages/code into '\wamp\www\project1' then the Virtual Hosts Definition

<VirtualHost *:80>
     DocumentRoot "c:/wamp/www/project1"   <-- this is the folder that holds
     ServerName project1.dev               <-- this domain
     ServerAlias www.project1.dev          <-- and this alias for that domain
     <Directory  "c:/wamp/www/project1">   <-- this section defines access rights to the domain
        AllowOverride All
 		Require local
     </Directory>
 </VirtualHost>