how to syncronize mysql db between webserver and local server
Posted by: freifer (---.blktn5.nsw.optusnet.com.au)
Date: June 30, 2009 05:02AM

HI

I am wondering if there is an easy way to syncronise or update Mysql on local machine ( with Wamp) with the live DB hosted on live server.

if someone can help will be great or point me in the right direction.

I am new to this, currently I download a copy of DB from life server ( using export ) , then go to phpmyadmin in Wamp on my local machine, Drop the whole DB and recreate it with the new one... It must be a better way of doing this sad smiley

Freifer

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: how to syncronize mysql db between webserver and local server
Posted by: dragnovich (189.209.223.---)
Date: June 30, 2009 09:12AM

Short answer...
No it can't be done. as is.

Long Answer:
No it cant be done, but there are some "solutions"

1) Install a cluster. Un less you install a DB cluster between your PC and your Server
Pros: This will keep your DB up to date instantly.
Cons: this is not an easy configuration trick, and requieres a very hight knowledge.
MySQL Cluster info: [www.mysql.com]

2) Make a pseudo cluster, in your app make a log of all sql altering transactions (INSERTS, UPDATES) on any table, and from your Localhost read that log and apply it locally every X time.
Pros: This can emulate the cluster functionality
Cons: This could cause some "data sync" crashes if you modify the same info in localhost and livehost.

3) Download your DB file (as you are doing right now)
Pros: You just need to download your file.
Cons: This solution becomes inefficent when the DB becomes bigger in size. But you can Even corrupt your DB files, if PHP take more that 30 secs to download it (or any time especified in you PNP.INI -> Maxexecutiontime). You can even corrupt your production server DB, and lost your data, so be carefull.