Access to MySQL and WAMP
Posted by: Pic (---.ny325.east.verizon.net)
Date: February 21, 2008 10:00PM

I just downloaded a program called "Access to MySQL" which supposedly converts Access databases to MySQL. This would be very useful to me because I have some experience with Access and none whatsoever with MySQL, which I'm just beginning to learn and seems comparatively cumbersome. (Here's a link to the site I got it from: [www.bullzip.com]).

When I try to run it, I get the following error message:

Unable to find a MySQL ODBC driver on this computer. Please install the latest ODBC driver from MySQL. The driver is available for download www.mysql.com. The program will now exit.

And it does.

Before I install anything, I'm wondering if anyone on this board can tell me whether or not I already have that driver installed. If so, how do I point this program to it? If not, will installing it screw up anything up? Also - has anyone had any experience with this program? Any tips or heads ups?

Thanks in advance,
Pic

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Access to MySQL and WAMP
Posted by: stevenmartin99 (---.b-ras1.blp.dublin.eircom.net)
Date: February 21, 2008 10:11PM

hmmm it depends on ur opersatig system

in control panel ul have an icon called odbc if its installed...

are you sure u need this program?

phpmyadmin is with wamp and it will convert them for u

Date: February 21, 2008 10:27PM

Hmm... Perhaps I'm lazy. I'm brand new to WAMP, which is to say I'm new to both PHP and MySQL and I'm eager to get started. I haven't explored phpmyadmin and will look for the conversion tool you mentioned. If you're still there and it's not too obnoxious of me to ask -- where is it?

Thanks,
Pic

Posted by: stevenmartin99 (---.b-ras1.blp.dublin.eircom.net)
Date: February 21, 2008 10:30PM

once you have wamp running- the icon will be all white

just open ur browser and goto [localhost] http :/ / localhost/phpmyadmin/

there u will see the gui for mysql

u can create tables etc in it...