Multisite issue on Wamp
Posted by: UnfoldDigital (---.3-3.cable.virginm.net)
Date: November 14, 2013 04:03PM

Hey,
I've installed Wamp on windows7 and installed 2 separate sites successfully.

I've tried to update one site to a multisite. It was running well on [cmi.localhost]
I changed the config file and .htaccess file to show this:

# BEGIN WordPress
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^index\.php$ - [L]

# add a trailing slash to /wp-admin
RewriteRule ^wp-admin$ wp-admin/ [R=301,L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -f [OR]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteRule ^ - [L]
RewriteRule ^(wp-(content|admin|includes).*) $1 [L]
RewriteRule ^(.*\.php)$ $1 [L]
RewriteRule . index.php [L]
# END WordPress

When I try to login to: [cmi.localhost], now it now logs me into the live site.
Also, [cmi.localhost] will only show the home page and no secondary page.

Any ideas?
I'm pretty new to this, so any help gratefully received!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Multisite issue on Wamp
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.as13285.net)
Date: November 14, 2013 05:13PM

As far as I remember, Wordpress multisite's must be installed in the DocumentRoot to work correctly.

This means that you will have to create a Virtual Host so that WP thinks its in the DocumentRoot and not in a sub folder.

Its fairly clearly stated in the WP Documentation.

Heres a HOWTO setup Virtual Host's

HowTo: Create Virtual Hosts in WAMP

BEFORE DOING ANY OF THIS PLEASE ENSURE APACHE AND MYSQL ARE WORKING PROPERLY FIRST!!!

1. Create a new folder outside the wamp directory structure.
for example
C:\websites\www
but this can be on any disk drive visible to the PC running wamp

2. Create a subfolder in c:\websites for each site you want to create.
for example:
C:\websites\www\site1
C:\websites\www\site2

3. Edit the file C:\wamp\bin\apache\apachex.y.z\conf\extra\httpd-vhosts.conf
where x,y and z are the version numbers of apache that you actually have installed.