persistent phpMyAdmin Problem
Posted by: Crucidal (---.student.utwente.nl)
Date: June 03, 2013 10:56PM

Hi,

So after installing wamp2 and messing around with all kinds of settings (I'm a complete rookie) I finally destroyed my msql server... after googling for 3 hours straight I can't come up with a solution to fix the following situation:

-- Re-installed Wamp.
-- Followed this guide to set up a virtual host: [guides.jlbn.net]

reason: I think it's cool that I have a nice looking url while learning how to build a website tongue sticking out smiley

-- The problem: I can access my webpages when I navigate to /domain/but I cannot access domain/phpmyadmin.

#1130 - Host 'MY_HOST_NAME' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server

What have I tried so far?
--edit \wamp\alias\phpmyadmin.conf to make it look like this

<Directory "c:/wamp/apps/phpmyadmin3.5.1/">
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
AllowOverride all
Order Allow,Deny
Allow from all
Allow from 127.0.0.1 ::1
</Directory>

I also tried it without the "::1" and without that last sentence all together. After making changes to this file I restarted the services everytime.

-- edited my.cnf and in cmd I granted all priveleges to root user.

now I did try some other guide 2 but I wasn't prepared to fail so I didn't log everything I did.... at least these are the main things I've tried.

Does anyone has an idea to resolve my problem?
greetings, Chris

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/03/2013 10:57PM by Crucidal.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: persistent phpMyAdmin Problem
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.as13285.net)
Date: June 03, 2013 11:09PM

Hi Chris,

Ok phpmyadmin runs as an alias ( dont worry what that means ) and should always be run as localhost/phpmyadmin ..... unless you installed it in your virtual host.

So undo your edit of \wamp\alias\phpmyadmin.conf as that will allow anybody anywhere to use your phpmyadmin to lok at your databases. NOT A GOOD IDEA.